Because I don’t have the same kinds of social constraints normal people seem to have, I just read an article in the NY Times that interested me enough to look up and contact one of the subjects. Wasn’t too hard, because she’s a professor at a big university, but when I emailed her, I immediately got a response that read:

Please note that Professor ____ does not use e-mail.
Kindly contact her at the office address below:

And then it told me her physical address. I will kindly contact her at the office address below, because I feel that it will do me well, but I can’t decide why she doesn’t do email. Does she simply not like computers? Or does this ensure she only gets communication that really needs her to see it? Either way, there’s no chance I’m giving her the satisfaction of asking.

